My Tango journey so far…a summary

dome1Since that fateful day when I had my first Tango lesson, I didn’t realise how much my life would change because of it.

What became one lesson a week quickly turned into five.  In my view, the only way to become a good dancer was to dance as much as possible at the Milongas.

I networked, and became an expert at it.  I went to all the classes before the Milongas to meet people:  Women to bond with and get the lowdown on the men to dance with – and men in the classes so I could have someone to practice with.

I was ruthless.  I danced with any man that asked me.  They were my teachers.  Good and bad, more bad than good.  The only time I didn’t dance with a particular man was if one of the ladies was adamant it wouldn’t be a good thing to do.  Listen to the women; they know what they are talking about.

Tango took up all of my spare time.  I bought all of the CD’s I could find in the shops.  I ‘acquired’ a lot of music. I listened to Tango music all of the time so that I would be familiar with the songs.  I don’t know all the words, song titles or sometimes the artists, but when I hear the song, I usually know it.  Like the music on the radio in the car.  You can only sing along when you hear it playing.

I read and researched Tango on the internet.  I looked at it on youtube.  My obsession seemed to have no limits.  After 4 years of dancing, I have been to nearly every venue, and I know who nearly everyone is, even if I didn’t really talk to them or dance with them.  (I have since cut back on my dancing this last year and will talk about that another time.)

Although you may think my networking strategy might be a bit cold, I actually really enjoyed getting to know the women and have made some lovely friends.  There are always more women than men at a Milonga.  What else is there to do when waiting for a dance?  Have a chat with the lady sitting next to you.  You would be surprised what you will find.  Women certainly have a lot of interesting things to say if you are willing to listen.

I have also met some lovely men.  Some I dance with and others not.  They provide a different perspective on the Tango experience.

So, how has my life changed because of Tango?  I learned a new skill.  I have a vast amount of information about the music and the dance inside my head and body.  I have more confidence.  I have met a huge amount of people that I wouldn’t have met before.  I have made some great friends.  I always have something to do if I am at a loose end. Through my Tango connections, I have found work and a lodger.  The list goes on.

It is not possible to put four years worth of Tango experiences into one posting.  This is just a summary of the journey so far and it is changing week by week.  My future postings about Tango will consist of snippets of the past, musings about my experiences of Tango in London in the present, and Tango journeys abroad.

I just wanted to share a bit about how I got here.

Comments are closed.

