Practicas in London

I would like to start adding Practicas to the Milonga Calendar.

Some bright spark seems to think that there aren’t any in London.

If you have a practica and would like to be listed, please send me a comment with the details and I will add it to the calendar.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sallycat
    May 30, 2009 @ 17:09:50

    Oh I love that phrase, ‘some bright spark’. My grandmother used to say it! Ta for reminding me of her today.
    And good luck with your practica calendar 🙂

    SC

  2. Arlene
    May 31, 2009 @ 08:22:14

    Thanks Sally.
    I am glad that I could bring a smile to your face!
    A x

  3. Arlene
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 13:18:03

    @ David Bailey
    I read your post and you do make some interesting observations.
    When I first started learning AT, my teacher also had a milonga after the class which could also be used as a practica. I had 2 lessons a week with him, but only one offered a practica/milonga in my area.
    I then went to another teacher and realised that I had to start over. He had a school and I went to the improvers class in the beginning of the week and then went to his class and milonga at the end of the week. It was a small milonga and it was ok to use as a practica. This went on for a couple of months. I was getting better, but the milonga brought in a lot of couples, so I wasn’t getting much dancing in (or practice) and I didn’t know where to go for that at the time. Corrientes (when at Tavistock) was my first Milonga suggested by a friend. It took going to the class prior for 5 weeks (networking) before I started getting regular dances in. Going to the milonga was the only way to really practice what I learned in class and my leaders were in effect my teachers. You can read about this in previous posts. Hence the blog with chock ful o’information.
    I eventually found another teacher on a different night that offered a little Practica/Milonga after. Ultimately, I was out 5 nights a week. Though I think I learned more in the milongas than the classes.
    There are a few people who offer practicas. But a lot of people might not consider using them if they are not taking classes from the organisers.
    Maybe the teachers, instead of just teaching an hour long class, could also offer an extra half hour practica inclusive? Or something along those lines. What is the point of learning something if you can’t practice? And as we know, it is not nice having lectures about our dancing on the dancefloor.

