I’m back from vacation

Just got back from my holiday.

It will probably take me a week to catch up with everything as I am also working full time this week.

I hope everyone has been dancing and that some of you managed to get to the Tango Extravaganza.

Am interested to know how it all went.

So over to you!

Arlene

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 18:03:54

    Tango mystery in Weymouth, England

    An ancient burial pit was recently found in Weymouth, England, under a road being built for the 2012 Olympics. Lead archaeologist David Score said the dismembered bones are likely of native Milongueros, and may date back to Roman times. Forty-five skulls were found in the grave as of June 11, along with torso, arm and leg bones.

    “At the moment we don’t fully understand how or why the remains have come to be deposited in the pit but it seems highly likely that some kind of catastrophic event such as dancing against the line of dance or the execution of high boleos has occurred,” Score told the Guardian newspaper.
    Archaeologists do not know who the bones might belong to.
    “We think that these dismembered bodies are likely to be native Iron Age Tangueros. The question is, how did they die and who killed them?” Score told Reuters. “Were they fighting amongst themselves? Did they die by expressing opinions on Dance Forums? Were they executed by the Tango police?
    “The exciting scenario for us possibly is that there were skirmishes with the invading Nuevos and that’s how they ended up chopped up in a pit,” he said.

  2. El Grump
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 00:07:05

    I deliberately avoided the extravaganza. Previously they’ve been carnage. My friends tell me it was no different this year. Unless of course you enjoy high prices for indifferent superstars and being kicked up the backside by kung-fu milongueras.

    Can’t wait for normal tango to return this Friday …

  3. habanera
    Jun 17, 2009 @ 11:22:21

    I have been to the extravaganza and, yes, it has been often been carnage but I have been lucky enough to go to a ‘colgadas y volcadas’ and a ‘tango milonguero’ class with Linarez and Carrazco: two serious, precise and generous teachers, as well as skilled and original stage dancers.

  4. Sophie
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 13:58:46

    Arlene – Extravaganzza was great to see the performances (various skill levels and degrees of enthusiasm), take the odd class with exhausted teachers, point out “out of towners” and say out loud “these people never come here normally” and go giggle in the cool corridor with tango buddies rather than die of heat in the ballroom. A successful festival by my book 😉

  5. tangoimpulse
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 23:03:43

    I missed the festival….wanted to go but currently taking it easy to recover from an injury. I have yet to find out from friends how it was. Last year I found the friday night was great but sat night was CARNAGE as other people have said. Assuming it was the same. But it is good to have something new to go to. I particularly liked river tango last year…that was a good festival.

  6. David Bailey
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 12:17:20

    I went on Sat – it was hot and crowded, but I didn’t think it was particularly carnage-y. The Dome last Wednesday was far worse in terms of floorcraft.

    Mind you, I’m used to Negracha’s, so my tolerance level may be slightly different to others…

