Finnish Tango – Not as we know it!

I have the day off work today and woke up way too early as usual.  While browsing youtube for Tango films, I came across some unusual media from Finland, and as my morning has been surreal thus far, I thought I would share my findings with you all.

Tango is quite big in Finland apparently.  I used to work for a Finnish paper manufacturing company based in Richmond, and once my colleagues knew that I danced Argentine Tango, they were quite happy to tell me about Tango in Finland.

The World of Tango Festival is held in Tampere every year in September and is one of the biggest festivals held in the country.  I have also been informed by some of my former colleagues that Tango was actually invented in Finland, and one of the IT guys was in a Tango band and composed Tango music.  Finnish Tango is slightly different from the Tango we are used to as they tend to mix it with the Foxtrot.  Unfortunately, I have not had the opportunity to dance Tango in Finland as the only time I was over there, no Tango was taking place that evening.

I was browsing through youtube where I came across this little film called Kaamos Tango.  Although not strictly Tango, the music is Tango music and I found this short film rather charming.  If someone would let me know the name of the song and artist, I would be grateful.

This next clip is rather unusual and this Tango claims to be the story of Finland and took place at a folk music festival in Sweden.  I have never seen Tango played on an instrument as this.   It is called a Nyckelharpa and has an interesting sound.  I like it.

Here is another clip where Tango music is being played in another format I have never seen before, a 20 note mechanical organ:

I had difficulty finding authentic Argentine Tango clips for Finland and this next clip is the closest I could find to it.  It is snippets of an event and although 9 minutes long is quite interesting.

I leave you with a funny and insightful clip on the Finns and Finnish Tango by 60 Minutes’ Morley Safer.

Monday 6 July 12.30 – 2pm

Canada Square Park, E14

Duo Milla Viljamaa & Johanna Juhola
Special guests from Helsinki present a concert of Finnish tango nuevo with the attitude of urban folk music.

Free event www.colf.org

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laurie Thompson
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 15:55:36

    Re: Kaamos Tango July 09
    Its by a group called Pedro’s Heavy Gentlemen.
    (Pedro Hietanen) I dont know which album or if the name of the tune IS Kaamos Tango. Pedro is an old all purpose rock-and-roll musician. Played in a million different bands over the years. Hard to find his stuff in the US. If you find it let ME know.

  2. Arlene
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 16:08:27

    Hi Laurie,
    Thanks for that. Will keep my ears peeled!
    A

  3. Laurie Thompson
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 16:44:40

    RE: Kaamos Tango

    music is Tango Notturno
    from album Mi Tango Triste
    by Pedro’s Heavy Gentlemen
    available at recordshopx.com shipped to you for about 12 dollars.

    The whole album is great. Lovely arrangements of the classics.

  4. Arlene
    Dec 28, 2010 @ 18:42:30

    Wow! Thanks Laurie!