I’m Moving

After living in London for over 20 years, I am moving to the coast.  After two years on the market, I finally sold my house.  I have always wanted to live beside or near the sea and now that will finally happen.  After more than 20 years, I am exchanging the sound of the planes flying over my house at the crack of dawn to the sound of seabirds at a more reasonable hour.

What does that mean for London Tango?  Well, it just means that I won’t be dancing much in London.  I haven’t been dancing much these last six months as I have either been working or spending weekends at the coast.  I am still keeping up the blog and will still be posting Special Events.  London isn’t far, so I might make a trip up to the big city now and again.  Besides, it’s where I learned to dance and love Argentine Tango.  I have made a lot of friends that I am going to miss.  So when I come up to visit, the evening will be even more special.

Life may change, but Tango goes on.  I am going to explore the Tango scene in Brighton and Hove.  There is no Tango where I live.  It takes as long to drive to Brighton as it did for me to drive to Holborn or Chalk Farm or Tufnell Park.  Maybe even less time.  At some point, I will add a Dance Calendar for Brighton, Eastbourne and Hove.  As the Argentine Tango scene is not as extensive as in London, the calendar will also incorporate Salsa and Ceroc/LeRoc/Jive.  I have already danced LeRoc in Eastbourne.  Tomorrow I will be dancing Salsa (my first dance before Tango).  I am already acquainted with people in my new ‘home town’.  That is the beauty of dance.  Dancing brings like-minded people together.  One doesn’t ever have to be alone.  Having a few different dance forms under my belt means that I can travel pretty much anywhere and find some dancing and make new friends.

I have a lot to do with my move and finding a place to live, so I may not be posting as regularly as I had been.  There is still more of Ask Arlene on the burner and I am regularly updating Special Events and the Calendar.

If anyone in Brighton, Hove and Eastbourne want to let me know what is going on in the Tango, Salsa or Ceroc/LeRoc/Jive world, drop me a line with a link to your website.

Happy Dancing To All!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sartenada
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 11:09:58

    Salsa – hmm, What about Merengues and Cumbias? I like most of all Cumbias and more pricely Cumbias from Chile, then Peru, Colombia, Ecuador.

    Merengue Venezolano is better than Merengue Dominicana.

    Have You danced these in London?

  2. Arlene
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 11:36:57

    @ Sartenada
    I haven’t danced these in London. I have danced Salsa Cali style with Cesar and Carolina http://www.latinculture.net/php/home.php
    They used to have a salsa evening at Wild Court on Saturdays (home of Negracha). I have written about this before: https://londontango.wordpress.com/2009/02/23/tango-y-salsa/
    As you can see, in London, I mainly dance Argentine Tango. Hence the blog. I started with Salsa and occasionally dance Ceroc. As there is not much Tango where I am moving to, I need to be a bit more versatile if I want to dance.

  3. mikeinvan
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 20:33:47

    Arlene
    Congratulations on the reinvention of your life. I hope the move to the coast brings you all the great things in life you are looking for. Isn’t the water a little cold for diving though? but then that’s what trip are for aren’t they.

    Cheers and all the best
    Mike

  4. Arlene
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 21:13:13

    Hi Mike!
    Yes, the water is cold and murky. Good thing I’m not too far from the airport!
    Thanks for stopping by. Hope the writing is going well for you!

  5. Mr Walker
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 23:31:00

    Hi Arlene

    It has been a pleasure meeting and dancing with you..What a wonderful way so start anew..We will miss you loads and look forward to any visits you make to london when the mood takes you, all the best…

  6. Arlene
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 07:32:30

    Hello Mr Walker,

    It has been my pleasure meeting you and the Mrs and dancing with you too. I am going to miss my Tango friends enormously and hopefully will make some new ones too. I will be sure to let you know the next time I am coming up to London.

  7. Angelina Tango
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 11:00:34

    Hi Arlene,
    We visit Eastbourne every year or so because that is where my partner’s father used to live and so does one of his brothers. We have hunted for tango but have found none! But then we are only Aussies on a short stay and maybe there are hidden events we know know nothing about.
    I will watch closely and even though we won’t be visiting as frequently as we have done as my father-in-law died earlier this year – we will certainly be looking for tango when we do.
    Hope you enjoy the move it is certainly a delightful part of the world.

  8. Arlene
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 11:34:41

    Hi Angelina,
    You must let me know when you come over so we can meet up. I’m sure we will find some Tango for you when you come here, or we may need to schedule our own little milonga! I have a lot of music!

  9. Captain Jep
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 12:06:53

    Yep living at the seaside is better for your health! I wish you all the best with the move. Big skies seagulls and a little faded gentility – they may not be fashionable but I’d prefer them any day to smog pigeons and yoof culture..

    I live in East Kent so dont know Brighton that well. However IMO the best events are organised by Kirsty at http://www.kijutango.co.uk. Otherwise there’s
    – Carola’s classes
    – (in Hastings) Jon and Sarah (www.atse.co.uk)
    – and some combined tango/WCS venture called Decadence Nights

    I’d also really recommend Salsa with Leo Henriquez and Claudine (Cubashe). They run some great events that Ive been to.

  10. Arlene
    Nov 17, 2009 @ 12:13:24

    Thank you Captain Jep!

    I have had contact with all of these people, but have yet to experience a milonga. Too busy enjoying the summer sun at the seaside!
    I am going to sample the dancing locally before I head out to Brighton and Hove. I have the SatNav, so I shouldn’t get too lost!

  11. Andreas
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 11:54:27

    Best of luck in the new place, Arlene, and I hope we’ll meet again for another tanda in London or elsewhere.
    Andreas

  12. Arlene
    Nov 18, 2009 @ 12:18:21

    Thanks Andreas,

    It was lovely to finally meet you at Carablanca. Thanks for giving me the eye 😉
    I’m sure it won’t be too long before we meet up again. All the best with your teaching. x

  13. Voice of Reason
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 19:05:49

    Hi Arlene

    Good luck in your new place. I hope it brings you much joy and happiness.

    VOR
    xx

  14. Arlene
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 19:08:43

    Thanks VOR,

    Sorry I didn’t get to say goodbye, but I was keeping a bit tight lipped about it. Hope to see you soon though. I might get up to London for one of the Xmas Party Milongas! xx

  15. Golondrina
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 23:38:02

    Thanks for all your work on the London Tango blog – it has been such a source of info and advice. I hope you still enjoy adding to it when you are by the coast. You must christen your new place with a perfect tanda!

  16. anita
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 14:04:59

    Hi Arlene,

    I live in Brighton and as I can see you got all the details what’s happening here. Kirsty from Kijutango will have a Xmas milonga on the 5th of December at the UMI Hotel in Brighton and Tomorrow on Saturday (21st Nov) is a Milonga in Warnham, supposed to be a nice one as I got told. Drop me a line, if you want more details.

    Best of luck for your move and life on the coast – being near the sea is really beautiful.
    Anita

  17. Arlene
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 15:12:25

    Hi Anita,

    Thanks for that. I am going to try and get to a Brighton milonga after the New Year. I have been a bit swamped with the move and all and keeping the London venues updated, so I have been staying local.

    I hope to meet you soon. Take care.

  18. anita
    Nov 20, 2009 @ 21:31:14

    Hi Arlene,

    Have a good settle-in and hope to see you in the New Year at one of the Brighton milongas.

    Best wishes, Anita

