Ask Arlene…Travelling in Argentina

Dear Arlene,

I am planning a trip to Buenos Aires to dance Argentine Tango.  However, as I am travelling all that way, I thought it would be a good idea to see what else Argentina has to offer.  I am going for 1 month and I would like to have 2 weeks in Buenos Aires and 2 weeks elsewhere.  Do you have any recommendations?

Thanks,

Frank

Dear Frank,

You are a lucky person!  I haven’t even been to Buenos Aires, yet!  I am still reading The Rough Guide to Argentina!

Since I have started the blog, I have come across two tour companies that might be able to help you and they are linked on the right hand side of the blog.  The first company is Tango Tours.   They are based in the UK and only deal with travel to Argentina.

The next company is North West Nomad.  They offer tours off of the beaten track if you are looking for something different.  Though I am sure they can help you with whatever you are interested in.  They also have a blog with amazing photos describing some of their adventures.

I cannot make any recommendations personally as I haven’t been to Argentina yet, but both companies have a lot of information at your disposal.  I hope you have a great holiday.

If anyone else can add to this, please feel free to comment.


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jantango
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 16:52:49

    There is so much to see and do in Buenos Aires. Two weeks is a very short time to know the milongas. I recommend staying in the city and enjoying all it has to offer culturally.

  2. cherie
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 16:52:54

    Hi Frank,
    Because it takes a while to become “known” in the milongas and to enjoy them as much as possible, I’m guessing that after 2 weeks you won’t want to leave BsAs!

    But in case you do, the places I would recommend seeing in Argentina are Iguazu, Salta, Mendoza, and Ushuaia, depending on the time of year. (If you come in Jan. or Feb., you really should go to Carnaval in Gualeguachu, for example, which isn’t far.) You might also want to hop across the river to Uruguay.

    You can save a lot of money doing it yourself. Especially if you travel first class on the bus, which is quite pleasant and luxurious. But if I were you, I would only plan one or two excursions, as you really won’t want to leave the tango of Buenos Aires!

    Have a great trip!

  3. Tara
    Dec 15, 2009 @ 18:38:44

    ooooh Argentina! my favourite!
    i spent 2 months in argentina in 2007 and i am dying to go back.
    depending on the time of year you are travelling – BsAs in December/January is hot …. hot hot HOT!
    you could travel further south – down to Mar del Plata and spend some time at the seaside or I would travel further down to El Calafate and the glaciers. The Perito Moreno glacier must be seen to be believed!
    The Argentine side of the Iguazu Falls would also be my other choice for the hot summer.
    Then I would go back to Mendoza – for the wine, the chocolate, the fruit and the people.
    And lastly, somewhere that I missed out on last time around – Salta.

    take a look at our travel blog – http://theflashpackers.blogspot.com

  4. tangobob
    Dec 20, 2009 @ 16:56:14

    I’m with Janis and Cherie here. I have been going to Buenos Aires for five years (once four times in a year) and still I do not get bored with it. We visited Colonia in Uraguay once in the heat of summer but only for a day.
    To see what happened on my last vist go to Estamos Aca and follow the posts to the end of the month, We did meet up with both Cherie and Janis.

  5. tangobob
    Dec 24, 2009 @ 16:39:07

    I have just done this post just for you Colonia January 2008 all from memory so there may be the odd error or omission.

