Coming out of Hibernation

I am not 100% convinced that spring has arrived, but the daffodils and flowering trees put hope into my heart.  This is one of my favourite times of the year where flowers are blooming on the ground and on the trees.  We have more daylight.  No longer do I wake up in pitch darkness or find it dark at 4pm.  I wake to the sound of seabirds and daylight.  The birds are doing all of their little mating rituals.  So are the fish in the sea (I just came back from another scuba diving holiday).  All of this activity has been getting me edgy and wanting to do things, like dance.

I have been in hibernation this winter.  Blame it on the weather.  I made a good start of attending the local Salsa and Le Roc events in November, but then we got snow and the cold put me off of my stride.  I haven’t been to a milonga since the beginning of December.  I no longer have the accessibility and choices of milongas since I moved (this is not a complaint, it is just the way it is), but that isn’t a reason not to dance as I also like other dance forms.  When I was living in London, nothing stopped me from going out in the winter cold for a dance.  So what was different that stopped me going out dancing for just two nights a week?  It took me awhile to work it out, but I think because my central heating had packed in at my old house and I was reduced to electric storage heaters, I made an effort to go out as my car was warm and  so were the milongas.   Since I have moved, I have been staying in a lovely centrally heated apartment.  I would be out in the cold during the day looking at properties, shopping or looking for work.  By the time I would get home in the afternoon, it would be dark.  I would come home to a warm and welcoming space.  By the time I warmed up, I wasn’t up to the task of getting myself ready to go out again in the cold.  I took up knitting again and read books or watched DVD’s with Amor.  Oh yes, I also didn’t have Amor before to distract me.  No excuse, I know.

Having just come back from a holiday of sea and sun, I feel energized and want to get back into the dancing swing of things.  I went out last night for a bit of Salsa dancing.  It was great to be back and see some of the people who I had become friendly with in such a short time.  The energy was really great and it looked like most everyone was having a good time.  I would have stayed longer, but I was trying out a new pair of shoes (Salsa shoes!) and they rubbed against my toes and I forgot to bring a spare pair.  I should have known better but I never have this problem with my Commies!  In spite of the pain, I did enjoy myself!  I look forward to going back again next week.

In any event, I am officially out of hibernation, and soon I won’t have anymore  excuses not to go dancing as my new home will be within walking distance to the venues.  🙂

So, if some of you have been in hibernation also, its time to get out and put those dancing shoes on.  If they are new, just make sure you break them in at home first!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alberto & Valorie
    Apr 07, 2010 @ 19:04:12

    I relate with sympathy to the loss of accessibility and choices of milongas, price we had to pay for downsizing, leaving San Francisco, and settling down in the Deep South.

    After ten years, I’m complaining, even when our lives have been enriched by the cultural and bohemian nature of this city.

    On the isolated occasions when dancing is an option, I hum a local tune, “Legs don’t fail me now.”

