Tony Tango – My Worst Tango Nightmare!

People wonder why I have to rant now and again about the way I feel how Tango is going and it looks like it is going to it’s lowest depths.  Here is why:

Although this could be hilariously funny, really as serious Argentine Tango Dancers wouldn’t try this in a milonga, it just goes to show what the wrong idea is about Tango.

I won’t say anymore, but feel free to offer an opinion.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mari
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 18:55:30

    ugh…

    I feel like I need mental white-out to try to erase that from my brain.

    That’s all we need turning up at the milongas. Somebody who thinks it would a great laugh to act like that with his (or her) friends.

    ::facepalm::

  2. Arlene
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 18:58:06

    Mari,
    I know! He’s even on Facebook! The sad thing is, we may have to watch it, on DVD.

  3. Game Cat
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 19:22:10

    After watching that, I made myself a cup of tea to forget. Then I realised that I needed something stronger. Now, I’m going to take a nap and pretend that it was all a bad dream.

    I hope it doesn’t attract more of a certain crowd into the milongas I go to (we’ve got enough Tonys and Tonis as it is, thank you).

  4. Arlene
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 19:24:16

    @Game Cat,
    I’m having wine!! Think I need another glass!!

  5. Tango Totty
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 22:43:16

    Hi Arlene

    I’d like to see an Austin Powers tango movie!!!!

    Groov y Baby
    Totty

  6. me
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 06:47:58

    I don’t get why you don’t like it, it looks like a funny movie to me. Personally, I think it would be nice if the tango comunity could learn to laugh at itself once in a while, but maybe I don’t understand the point??

  7. Game Cat
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 12:03:25

    Hello to the poster calling him/herself “me”:

    I have no doubt it is funny to many people. However I have two objections to it – one is personal, the other is practical.

    First – not to my taste. On these grounds I have no objection to other people enjoying it. We just like different things. Here is a funny film about tango that I did like. What do you think?

    Second – if this attracts people to milongas who dance big, without any regard for others or the line of dance, it will affect other people’s enjoyment. That’s the same as yahoo boy racers driving their cars recklessly on the high street disturbing other drivers.

  8. Foxy
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 15:01:34

    Careful what you say, Tony is now on the teaching team of at least one popular London milonga.

  9. elo43
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 16:20:11

    I’ve read somewhere that it may be based on a true story, and what’s up with that goat? I think it looks hilarious.
    Elo43

  10. KJ
    Jun 19, 2010 @ 18:35:03

    Looks funny to me….maybe you should join there Facebook wall and reach out to them and let them know what the community would like to see…movies like that always want to reach out to communities that have to do with their movie even if its a comedy…i don’t know just a thought

  11. Johanna
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 02:26:27

    I’m with me on this (which is a very odd sentence to type…). This is so very clearly a send up. There’s even a subliminal jackass in there. VERY tongue in cheek, although he’s too gross to commit to watching for more than just the trailer.

  12. Mark
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 18:08:39

    Cringing already.

  13. Caroline
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 07:34:08

    Well, when last week-end I asked someone how’s the dancing in London, her answer was: “Tango in London is a blood sport”.
    I think it’s pretty much explain why this video, which is supposed to be a parody, doesn’t make laugh some people … It is not that they have no humour, it is because for them it is a reality…

  14. Arlene
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 15:35:23

    @ Caroline,
    Amen!
    Thanks for stopping by!

  15. Game Cat
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 22:08:01

    Caroline – I’m going to make a bumper sticker with that quote. We’ll make a fortune.

  16. Detlef
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 13:55:19

    Well, the difference between Tony Tango and London Tango is:

    Tony KNOWS what he is doing !

    🙂

    Cheers from bella Italia

  17. Lindsey
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 18:55:53

    Detlef, I was thinking of trying my luck in London until you said that!

  18. Detlef
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 13:02:16

    Similar to France and Germany, the more serious and better quality tango doesn’t happen in the capital, but in the south. For instance, Berlin and Paris will never become Germany’s and France’s tango capitals. Quantity yes, quality no. In (certain) southern parts of the these countries you find the not so hidden treasures. 🙂

    I recommend strongly to ask my colleague Andreas in Totnes where to go! Be it in London, be it elsewhere in the UK.

    He does know ….

    Best of luck ::

  19. Mike
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 19:38:16

    What is so funny here, I dance like this all the time,

    the women have never complained once they come back from A & E

  20. Lindsey
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 20:33:10

    Less is more!

  21. The Voice of reason
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 03:50:18

    @Gamecat: Loved the film. If it was Hollywood we would have discovered that she also had only been dancing for 2 weeks (or 2 years in London).
    VOR

  22. The Voice of reason
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 03:52:33

    @Mike; I think I’ve seen you dance.
    VOR

  23. The Voice of reason
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 04:00:53

    @Detlef
    Can I take it from what you write that you are based in Italy or the UK tango capital of south Devon?
    @ Lindsey
    Its not that bad really. We’re getting better and all the Milongas have refreshments. Some even have empanadas.
    VOR

  24. Detlef
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 20:23:09

    @ voice of reason:

    Working sometimes in both regions, but based in Germany.
    Will soon be back in the UK, next month already.

    Greetz for now from Italy (again)
    :::

