Belgrano Project

A friend of mine on Facebook posted a link to a video by Joe Cristina, a composer  who has written an incredible piece about the tragedy of the sinking of the Argentine ship which will be performed in the summer by the OC Symphony. Here is the storyline about it.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Arlene
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 09:23:22

    Please note that I will not be accepting comments to this post that will create argument and bad feeling.

    You do not have to agree with this post. I am impartial and do not feel qualified to offer a political opinion.

    I found the clip interesting, that is all. Regardless of the content, as a woman, I can identify with the sentiment that the composer is trying to convey and I would like to hear the final outcome.

    This posting is meant to inform, not to offend.

  2. Alberto
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 14:16:26

    Arlene,

    There is nothing to be coy or defensive about.
    First of all, we leave in a world where the free expression of ideas and opinions is threatened by the noise produced by obtuse minds, the kind that keep their shoes new by walking on their knees.

    Thank you for finding the information and thank you for sharing it. We’re looking forward to hear the concert.

    Warm hugs,
    Alberto

  3. Arlene
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 15:27:49

    @ Alberto

    I have been asked to remove the post as some people found it offensive. I find war to be offensive, yet I read about it all of the time. I will not remove the post. I am aware that it will not appeal to many people, but I can’t please everyone and I don’t really want to. It wasn’t meant for them.

    Oh, and thanks for the other thing. I fixed it.
    A x

  4. Alberto
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 16:50:21

    As I understand the context, this has nothing to do with war, nor politics. Of course, it does require some maturity to listen and understand before deciding to disagree or not.

    People can choose to be offended but by the same token they can also choose to ignore and mind their own business.

    I’m very glad you chose not to be offended by the inconsiderate selfishness of those who refuse to grow up.

    Alberto

  5. Danny.
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 17:25:27

    Arlene, you mustn’t remove anything, unless its clearly intended to be abusive, but to accomodate people’s feelings, particularly those who intend to be offended, well………
    So what happened to my point about the torpedo which sank the Belgrano also sinking the junta, which is what happened, and the restoration of tango as a result, not to mention civil society in Argentina. Tango is usually in the hot seat, one way or another. Surely this would interest all tangueros……

  6. Mike
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 20:49:54

    Arlene, as I appear to be the body causing the objection, may I suggest that if you do not intend to remove it then at least amend the reference in the intro to it being a tragedy, the whole war was a tragedy, 255 British personnel dead God knows how many injured, I’ll ask you plainly “what about them” are they also not deserving of a mention, if not, why not ?

    The war was a political and military statement by the Argentine Government at the time, their claim on the Falkland is still part of their constitution, and they have now again been sabre rattling so anything which comments on the Falklands is really going to cause you grief, Tango has nothing to do with the war, if you want to make a political statement at least be even handed about it

  7. Arlene
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 21:07:20

    Mike,

    I think you lost the plot.

    This specific incident IS a tragedy. It is no less or no more a tragedy than any other tragedy of war. A tragedy is a tragedy. If I do not mention anyone else, it is because it is not about them, the post is about something specific. Did you actually watch the video and understand what it is about? (Rhetorical question, please do not reply)

    I am not making a political statement. You were the one doing that with your initial comment and would like to do so now. I hope no one rises to this as I am not going to allow this to become what you want it to be. (I am already bored with the comments by the same old on another post I just did.) I am merely posting a video about a project that I think is interesting and I already stated why. You seem to want to make this into something more than what it is and I will not allow that.

    This has nothing to do with Tango, but neither do my posts on belly dancing or ceroc. So what? It’s my blog. I have a lot of Argentine friends that read my blog and I thought that this would be of interest to them and anyone else interested in music.

    Thank you for your more reasonable comment.

  8. David Bailey
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 08:48:48

    @Arlene:
    “This has nothing to do with Tango, but neither do my posts on belly dancing or ceroc. So what? It’s my blog”
    – It is indeed, and you can do what you want with it 🙂

    But it’s a contentious issue, and unfortunately, this is one of those areas that divides the UK and Argentine communities. So I’d expect strong opinions to be expressed.

    Not by me, of course, I’m a pussy cat.

  9. Arlene
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 08:59:44

    @David

    If people have strong opinions, they can post them on their own blogs. As I stated before, it isn’t a political statement which some people want to make it. It is about creating music around an event in History. I never expect anyone to like my posts, but some of the reactions are a bit extreme.

    Meow!

  10. Clinton
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 21:49:49

    I have listened and heard the words of the Composer, he clearly states that that it is about love and loss not about politics, this can only be applauded.
    I accept that some may not like the content or even context of that which is being said, however do we not live in a society that allows freedom of expression providing that it is not to the detriment of others. This piece does not appear to do that, he states clearly it is a perception of a woman who lost her love in this incident.
    Life is full of tragedy, it’s all around us on a daily basis just look at the news and you will be told about it in glowing technicolour detail with interviews of those seeking their 15 minutes of fame before the camera
    This does not invoke our disgust but more interest and salicious delight, when did we last watch the news or read the paper because the headline was good news? We thrive on the anguish and suffering of those around us, this is the society we have become.
    Mike mentioned the 255 British that lost their lives, what about the many Argentine who also lost their lives in this conflict? Balanced I think not?
    This Composer is like many of our generation, he identifies an event, is moved by it and attempts to show his thoughts and feelings by the use of his art and skill.
    To attempt to censor this is abherrent, we have fought throughout history to be free of the shackles of those who wish to inflict their views and beliefs upon others. The freedom we accept so readily today was gained by the efforts of those who fought and at times died in order that to achieve that freedom
    Just visit the War Graves in Northern Europe to realise the price that many paid to protect that freedom.
    My nephew fought in the Falklands conflict as a young man full of promise and anticipation for his life. He survived but as a shell of what he was, that is a tragedy.
    Joe Cristina I look forward to hearing your composition it does not offend me.

  11. David Bailey
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 22:37:52

    @Arlene:
    My comment was intended in a positive and sympathetic way, and I’m sad that you’ve not taken it that way. Considering anything else I post is also likely to generate controversy, I’ll also bow out of this discussion.

    Finally, as a general point, if you don’t want strong comments, I’d suggest it’s better to simply disable commenting features, rather than to try to direct / censor individual comments. But as you say, it’s your blog.

    David

  12. Arlene
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 06:53:20

    @David

    I know your comment was sympathetic and I appreciated it, really. Maybe something got lost in translation with my reply.
    I was generally trying to clarify why I posted it in the first place.

    Please, if you have something to say, say it. I know you are one of the few who can actually make a point without making it detrimental and personal.

  13. Tango Totty
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 15:30:44

    I agree with both Clinton and Alberto. The composer clearly states that piece has a universal theme of love, loss and remembrance. Mike what are you on ???? – Some people just are just blinkered by their own prejudices.

