Nothing Much to Say

If I haven’t written much lately it is because I haven’t been dancing.  I have taken a bit of a break from dancing anything. No Tango, no Belly Dancing, no LeRoc, no Salsa.  I haven’t been dancing partly because I have been busy doing other things and haven’t had the energy for it, or I just haven’t felt like it.  I think I lost my dancing mojo there for a little while.

Instead of dancing, I have been making a nest.  Moving to a new place can be challenging,  but trying to get anything done without knowing who to call makes it doubly so.  The hard work has finally paid off and  although there is still some more work to be done I am now ready to get back to dancing.

A couple of weeks ago when I came up to London, I went to a milonga.  There was live music and a performance.  I danced three tandas the whole evening with two different people.  I spent most of my time sitting on the sidelines watching the dancers.  There were very few dancers who danced in the style I prefered, and some of them would never ask me for whatever reason.  That was ok and I enjoyed watching them.  The rest I have no comment.  I have decided to stay away from making negative remarks or to keep them to a minimum.  Considering that the dancing, in my opinion, was less than ideal, I nevertheless stayed quite late.  If I was entertained, it was for completely different reasons.  I enjoyed my dances immensely.  My evening might have ended on a low note if I had a less than pleasant dance experience, but it didn’t.

Regardless, I am back in the mood for dancing.   There is no Tango in Eastbourne, so I do other dance forms that are available to me.  As there was no Belly Dancing class last night  I went to Salsa instead and had a lovely evening.  My goal is to do both in one evening.   Doing both is going to be a challenge as the Belly Dancing class is a super workout and I might need a little time to recover, freshen up and change in order to make one of the Salsa classes.  Although I already know how to dance Salsa, I like to do the class as it is a good way to meet people.  I don’t do the classes at LeRoc.  I find them over-complicated, and when they add Tango elements it makes me cringe.  In any event, I don’t have problems getting dances there.

As this blog is about Tango I don’t usually report on the other styles, but I am happy to answer any questions about my experiences.  I am not dancing much Tango because I am not up in London very often, so I really haven’t got much to say right now.  I still have opinions, but I would prefer to express myself in positive ways.  As the saying goes, ‘If you haven’t got anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.’

Instead, I live in the moment and enjoy whatever I am doing for what it is there and then.  If its great, that’s wonderful, if not, well it is what it is and that is that.

So, with nothing more to say, I will wait until my next Tango embrace and dance to the music in the moment.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. TinaDiva
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 11:11:52

    For nothing much to say – it was well said! x

  2. Arlene
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 15:03:59

    Thanks Tina! Ha!

  3. Dubliner's Daughter columnist Lorraine Chambers
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 16:10:33

    Life is like a dance. It has its ups and downs, busy and quiet times. We do it when the mood strikes us. It seems other priorities are on your dance card at present. Funny thing, I haven’t been practicing my guitar lately and I’m worried about not picking up the guitar, so I am working at putting it back on my ‘things to do’. Just got a part time job at the nearby performing arts center so I know that will lift my spirits even higher! I look forward to someday being in England and attending a dance event with you and your friends. Thanks for the insight into your world. Great writing.

  4. Sezley
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 09:48:34

    I’ve only been dancing for a couple of years and have to say I have a great teacher who is very honest, admits that she is still learning herself and only wants to share the amazing experience that is Tango.
    However I have already discovered that I have to pick & choose where I dance, and in more instances than not, I decide not to go dancing and save my Tango pennies for a more genuine experience. So most of the time, I spend my Tango time dancing round my house practising my technique & exercises. It seemed like there was I fleeting moment when I felt confident enough with my dance and not realising the difference between good & bad Tango enough to feel completely swept up in it. Politics, egos, bad floor craft, cliques, lack of loyalty and agendas have so soon coloured my vision.
    Despite this.. I will keep dancing!

