Good Personal Hygiene is not just for the Holidays!

The holiday season is upon us once more and the dance parties will be in full swing.

I just read my post on personal hygiene and feel it is as relevant now as it was two years ago when I first published it.  Apparently it is one of my most popular posts. 🙂

If I have anything to add, it would be this:   Men, if you are the type who will drench a T-shirt after a couple of dances or a tanda, please bring plenty spare.  I recently had the displeasure of dancing with a man who knows he perspires.  I suggested that he brings some spare ones and he replied that they would only get wet too!   Oy vey!  As far as I’m concerened, bring your whole wardrobe, because at least you might be dry for a dance each time you change your shirt!    To be equal to both sexes, I think the women should be just as prepared.

Saying all that, I hope that everyone has a wonderful time wherever they are dancing and whatever style!

Happy Dancing to All!

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Xiomara
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 18:52:49

    Hey Arlene,

    Great post, just read it & totally agree with everything you wrote but I would also like to add something slightly controversial & unmentioned before, which might even lead to a separate discussion:

    Yes it is hot in milongas & men open up their shirts a bit to perspire less but that does not necessarily feel blissful to the women of shorter statues who end up with their noses & mouths in the hair on man’s chest… and let’s face it – hair on the chest is not the same as hair on the head.

    And it would all be cool, if the women could choose how close they wanted to be held but unfortunately, we can’t.

    Of course, I am not suggesting that all men should wax at all times but having seen that happen to quite a few women, including myself – I feel this merits outlining & I would be very interested to see more opinions on this, as seeing the post on the hygiene, this is as close as it gets 😉

  2. Arlene
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 19:00:56

    @Xiomara
    Ha, you have a point! A bit of chest hair can be seen to be manly, but really it ought to be covered, or you could only dance with men slightly taller than you or your own height, which would be a perfect fit! 🙂

  3. Alberto
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 19:32:13

    @Xiomara and other misinformed women.
    The woman is the one who decides how close to dance.
    No ifs, buts, or other infantile excuses.
    Don’t let anybody tell you otherwise.

    Another aspect which is routinely overlooked is the fact that you don’t have to dance with people who show disregard for their grooming and what they forced their partners to put up with.

  4. Xiomara
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 19:41:38

    You see Arlene,

    Here we come to another interesting subject…:

    Recently, I heard from a very good & experienced milonguero that he dances only with women his height, because that way it’s easier to resist the centrifugal force in couple… I was quite upset about it actually.
    Imagine, someone like that in a few years, launching their own school & teaching wisdom such as that to the future generation of milongueros ?

    What about CONNECTION & CHEMISTRY ???

    If people start to limit the range of their partners in terms of height, connection, sexy outfit, hair on chest (or not), etc… then how many people are you left to dance with – 3 in the whole town ?

    You might as well find ONE partner & do ballroom competitions instead, cause I thought Tango was a social dance…(?)

    I guess my final word is that both men & women are responsible for the connection in couple & for making the experience as enjoyable as possible, including personal hygiene & taking care of the chest hair, etc… 😉

    We should be flexible & open-minded, not picky & fussy.

    AMEN 🙂

  5. Maya
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 20:04:56

    Dear Alberto,

    I have to agree with Xiomara on this one.

    I am glad you say that as a man cause this is the way it should be. Unfortunately, it isn’t in 95% of the milongas, due to the fact that most of the times guys choose the style they like & use the embrace accordingly.

    On top of that, the ones who learn tango in order to feel like a macho, they get the impression that they actually are a macho if they hold a woman really tight (behaviour & image produced by some teachers).

    Therefore, when a guy embraces a woman too tight and she tries to make more space for herself leaning backwards (or just trying to keep it straight with even distance, especially in tango de salon), it feels & looks unpleasant and the guy feels ashamed, cause it’s like they have just been rejected.

    Nevertheless, if most men thought the way you think, it would be truly lovely, cause women would have BOTH options – to either keep her space or come closer if she felt like going for it 🙂

    Bless you Alberto & I hope you keep spreading this truth across as much as possible.

  6. Arlene
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 20:07:34

    @Xiomara
    I can’t agree with you here. Sorry! Although I dance with men much taller than me, the most comfortable dances are with people my own height or a bit taller. That is just the way it is in the dancing world! Especially in a close embrace. Ask anyone! If we are picky and fussy, it is because we want the best experience we can have, which is why it pays to look at what people are doing on the dance floor and make informed choices. Many people are not picky and fussy and might dance a lot, but I am after quality, not quantity. Being discerning can be to one’s advantage. You are right in saying that both people are responsible for the connection, but this is the real world and that doesn’t always happen. which is why some people are are stinky and need to be told! Sometimes we don’t know until it is too late!

  7. Arlene
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 20:11:11

    @Maya,
    I’ve been told that the woman chooses the embrace and how close she wants to be. Go figure that!

  8. yabotil
    Nov 30, 2010 @ 19:26:17

    I always dance in a suit, obviously it gets warm but then I don’t have to feel so guilty when my back is drenched in sweat.

