Queer Tango in London

WoWee! The London Evening Standard have approached me – they want to feature cover Mariano’s Queer Tango London Workshops in June and Queer Tango London for their Lifestyles supplement magazine which has a circulation of 2 million! We’ve had good take up for these workshops following my PR campaign, especially via the listing on the TIMEOUT blog and via Twitter. The aim of Queer Tango London is to kick start regular events like weekly classes and a montly milonga…. tall order, but it shouldnt be, my belief from the responses we’ve so far had is the demand exists…so please SPREAD THE WORD and any advice on teachers /venues who might be interested in helping me with this in London PLEASE HOLA ME PRONTO.
Nick Stone
Queer Tango London

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chris
    May 26, 2011 @ 16:44:11

    QUEER TANGO TECHNIQUE

    How does that differ from the straight variety, I wonder….

  2. nick stone
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:30:44

    …well…its much more than just same gender tango dnacing…its more about a greater fluidity between leader and follower roles and not in a traditional way, more within one dance the two dancers will subtley take or relinquish control. All I can say is IT’S LIBERATING !

  3. Gary Hawkins
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 11:18:07

    Hi,

    I’d be interested in any forthcoming Queer Tango events in London.

    I just saw the flyer about the weekend just gone! I missed out!

    Please let me know if there is anything happening soon!

    Cheers

    Gary!

  4. Chris
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 12:06:24

    more within one dance the two dancers will subtley take or relinquish control. All I can say is IT’S LIBERATING

    Even more liberating for the fact there’s nothing exclusively queer about it! 🙂

  5. mavis
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 11:41:07

    I went to Queer Tango in BA and there it was about not feeling that men had to lead and women had to follow. Both genders danced both roles, sometimes in same sex couples sometimes in mixed couples. I also went to a milonga where they taught the exchange of roles within the dance which was very impressive!

    And yes, it had nothing to do with sexuality… Might be an idea for the queer tango people doing this one to perhaps define what queer tango is to them though…

  6. Chris
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 18:29:23

    “I went to Queer Tango in BA and there it was about not feeling that men had to lead and women had to follow.”

    The locals of the regular BA milongas could tell you how little they feel that men have to lead and women have to follow. They’ll tell you that leading and following is not the way they dance. “Following” in particular is a complete misunderstanding of the woman’s role.

  7. Arlene
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 18:40:58

    Maybe ‘following’ is just an easier way to say not actively leading. I am not interested in taking the lead or losing the connection of a close embrace. I prefer the man to take the lead and feel where he is going with the music. Once I can recognise that, I am just able to relax and enjoy the experience and give whatever I have inside me in the moment.

  8. Ester
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:22:36

    Damn, we missed the workshop as well. We are a lesbian coupe who would really like to attend beginners queer tango in London if anything comes up this summer. Please let us know if you hear of a new event or know about some classes somewhere!

    Kindest
    Maja Moesgaard and Ester Fleckner

  9. ronnie
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 17:09:20

    I read about queer tango on th eveningstanderd,and love it! Iv missed the beginners as well and love be part of it, again Can singles go if u have no partner? anyway when are the next classes and when,where…PLZ let me know ASAP?

  10. Richard
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 14:44:37

    Hello. I anyone knows of any upcoming opporutnities for gay tango, please let me know by email. Thanks! Richard

