Dreaming Big and Packing Lite: I am going to Argentina!

I have always wanted to go to Argentina to dance the REAL Tango in Buenos Aires.  After I put my dancing on hold (see this post) , my dream didn’t fade, it only got bigger.  Instead of wanting to go to BsAs for Tango, I wanted to travel around the country.  I nearly went, but I changed my mind because I didn’t want to travel around Argentina for a month on my own.  Not that I have a problem meeting people to do things with, but I felt that the experience would be better with a friend.  Then I bought a house.

I have been very busy with things other than Tango, such as the house, etc.  However, I now have someone that I am going to Argentina with.  As well as Argentina, I plan on exploring as much of Latin America as I can.  Notice how the dream has gotten even bigger!  Not only will I be dancing the REAL Tango in BsAs, I will get a chance to dance in other places in the country and on the continent!

I will be traveling with my partner for 3-6 months with only a 10 kilo backpack each.  There won’t be much room for fancy clothes, but I aim to take along a pair of dancing shoes!

If anyone has any tips about where to go, or has  friends I might be able to contact while visiting, I will be grateful for any help.  If you want to know what I am up to and what we are doing when we get there, please visit my new blog, http://dreambigpacklite.wordpress.com

In the meantime, Happy Dancing!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tangocherie
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 11:09:54

    So happy for you! You will have a fabulous time. Please contact me when you are in BsAs, as I would love to meet you. Buen viaje!

  2. Arlene
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 11:34:14

    Thank you Cherie! I am so looking forward to seeing friends I haven’t even met yet! xx

  3. The Box Girl
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 16:20:40

    HI Arlene, so glad to hear you are finally coming over here. I am on holidays here for the month. I can recommend afternoon milongas such as Nuevo Chique at the Casa de Galicia on tuesdays and thursdays as great openers to the scene. La Nacional on a monday night is also good. Once you get here the tango map is a good guide, as is word of mouth. There are a few smaller newer milongas here as well.
    cheers

  4. Arlene
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 17:38:26

    Hi Box Girl,
    Thanks for the info. I can’t get too much of it. Enjoy your holidays!
    Arlene

  5. Steve
    Apr 27, 2013 @ 07:57:14

    Hey Arlene, It’s so great that you’re going travelling like this doing what you love! I’ll definitely be keeping up with your new blog 🙂 have fun!

